MTAM Awards

Congratulations to our 2023 Award recipients and thank you to all who attended this year’s Awards Dinner! 

You can read about our award recipients below: 

2022 Peter Stachnyk Merit Award recipient Katherine Styrchak, BA, RMT, CLT-LANA 

2022 Mentor of the Year recipient Kerri Holden, RMT 

2022 Educator of the Year recipient Glen Bergeron, PhD., CAT(C) 

Scholarship, Milestone and Heather Whittaker Award Recipients 

The MTAM Annual Awards Night is scheduled for October 6, 2024 at the St. Boniface Golf Course. 

We look forward to seeing everyone and acknowledging all of our members who have made significant contributions to MTAM and the Massage Therapy profession in Manitoba. 


Nominations for the 2024 awards will open May 1, 2024. All submissions must be received in the office by August 31, 2024. Please see the nomination criteria and submission forms below. 

Call for Award Nominations

Help us recognize the achievements of your colleagues in the Massage Therapy Profession! If you know an RMT who has made outstanding contributions to the profession or to MTAM, consider nominating them for an award. Whether they’re an exemplary educator or have given their time and expertise in other ways to benefit the massage therapy profession, we want to honour them. 

Peter Stachnyk Merit Award

The Peter Stachnyk Merit Award (formerly the MTAM Merit Award) is named in honour of MTAM’s founding member. Peter has always believed in the highest standards for the massage therapy profession in Manitoba and created an Association which would help achieve that goal. This award recognizes an MTAM Member’s service to MTAM and the profession through strong leadership and the highest standards in the areas of integrity, professionalism, innovation, advocacy, accountability, and communication. 

Nomination a colleague for the 2024 award. 

MTAM Mentor of the Year Award

The MTAM Mentor of the Year Award is presented to an MTAM Member who goes above and beyond to make a real difference in the professional or academic life of their MTAM colleagues. Nominees may be part of a formal or informal mentoring relationship. They may be an assigned mentor or anyone else – a clinic owner, employer, co-worker, or other MTAM colleague – that has done an outstanding job in meeting the nomination criteria. 

Nominate a colleague for the 2024 Mentor of the Year Award 

Educator of the Year

The Educator of the Year Award recognizes an individual with a history of academic excellence. The award acknowledges Registered Massage Therapists or other Registered Health Care Professionals who are academic or clinical educators (teaching/supervising) in Manitoba. The nominees of this award should promote professionalism, excellence in learning, provide innovative teaching techniques, go over and above the normal requirements of an educator, and celebrate the successes of their students. 

Nominate an outstanding instructor for the 2024 Educator of the Year Award 

Skip to content